# **WA Rogaining Association 2023 Annual General Meeting**

Minutes

Date: 30 March 2023; Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries (264 Vincent St, Leederville)

## 1. Welcome and opening of meeting

In the absence of an Office bearer from the 2022 Committee, Elena Ghergori Chaired the meeting.

Meeting opened at 7pm

**Attendees**: See attendance list as last page.

Apologies: Jeremy Knowles, Silvia Klemenz, Elena Dinucarmen

## 2. Confirmation and acceptance of minutes from previous Annual General Meeting

Minutes from the previous AGM were not available, having been lost due to significant committee disruption through 2022.

A retrospective version documenting the 2022 AGM and committee election will be prepared by the Secretary.

### 3. Reports

3.1	President's report	Elena Ghergori read the President's report.	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	<b>Motion</b> : it was moved to accept the president's report as a true and accurate record.	
		Moved: Chris Lee Seconded: Brian Austen Vote: Carried	

3.2	Treasurer's report	Audited report from the Treasurer had not been prepared.	
	Тероп	<b>Motion</b> : it was moved that the Audited Treasurer's report be prepared in 2 to 3 weeks and presented at the next rogaine event (6 May 2023)	
		Moved: Bruce Makin Seconded: Chris Ryan Vote: Carried	

The meeting noted that the signatories of the Bank of Queensland account need to be updated:

Remove: Peter Trenneman, Owen Horton and Elena Dinu

New signatories: Andre Morkel, Ann Smithson, Chris Ryan and Jennifer Kelly.

Any two of these four committee members are required to sign for transactions.

### 4. Election of Committee

The following members were elected to Office Bearer positions.

Management committee position	Nominee Seconder
President: Andre Morkel	Ann Smithson Kiersten Morkel
Vice President: Ann Smithson	Andre Morkel Jim Langford
Secretary: Chris Ryan	Andre Morkel Duncan Ellis
Treasurer: Jenny Kelly (Duncan Ellis as assistant)	Andre Morkel Duncan Ellis

As the senior 2023 Committee member present, Ann Smithson took the Chair.

The following committee members elected not to re-stand: Peter Mann and Mark Jones. The Chair thanked them for their service.

The following committee members elected to re-stand.

Elena Ghergori (Locations Officer2023; Safety Officer)

Janice Johnston (Volunteer Coordinator)

The following nominations for committee members were received prior to the AGM:

Corine Mercer (Event Coordinator)

Joel Tate (Locations Officer 2024)

Joe Scibiorski (General Committee)

Unna Chidambaram (General Committee) Nominee Seconder: Ryszard Gorell and Carol

Burmeister

There being less that the maximum of six ordinary committee members, the Vice President

declared those persons duly elected.

Ann Smithson read the incoming President's statement, thanking the 2022 committee and

volunteers for their service, and his priorities for the next 12 months.

5. Appointment of the auditor for the next financial year.

**Motion**: Brian Austin was nominated as auditor for the forthcoming financial year.

Moved: Alan Kerr Seconded Chris Lee Vote: Carried

6. **General business** 

Club and committee capacity to host events

A request to consider the club and committee's capacity to continue holding the current number of events each year, and to host the Australian Rogaining Championships was received before

the meeting.

Motion: Consideration of the number of events and possible hosting of Australian

Championships be referred to the Committee for discussion.

Moved: Brian Austin Seconded: Chris Lee Vote: Carried

7. **Meeting close** 

The meeting closed at 7:48 pm

#### ATTENDANCE01.DOC

### WARA AGM

#### March 2023 - Attendance

Chris LEE Paddle gain Feb '23 Novelty Nov '22 Sue LEE Stan BARCLAY May 12 Hr '22 James EARL Admin '22 Mo HELALY VP '22 - '23 Joe HORNUNG Novelty Nov '22 Grant JOLDES Paddle gain Feb '23 Joel TATE Paddle gain Feb '23 Peter de WET Paddle gain Feb '23

Shane LEWIS

Eva SCIBIORSKI Paddle gain Feb '23
Joe SCIBIORSKI Paddle gain Feb '23
Rachael PRICE Paddle gain Feb '23
Susan ROLLASON Equipment team
John ROLLASON Equipment team
Taryn SCHUSTER Double dam Aug '22
John CUGLEY May 12 Hr '22

 Bruce MAKIN
 June '22

 James MASSEY
 Novelty Nov '22

 Jacqui HAMLING
 Novelty Nov '22

 Jim LANGFORD
 Setting June '22

 Richard MATTHEWS
 Paddle gain Feb '23

 Jebra LETHBRIDGE
 6 Hr - 2023

 Mick LETHBRIDGE
 6 Hr - 2023

Edward PLUMMER Paddle gain Feb '23 Brian AUSTIN Novelty Nov '22

Al JANSEN June '22 - 24 Hr (State Champs)

Peter MANN Novelty Nov '22 Elena GHERGORI Committee '22 Unna CHIDAMBARAM August '22 Stuart McDONALD Novelty Nov '22 Alan KERR Paddle gain Feb '23 Novelty Nov '22 Corinne MERCER Richard PRICE Paddle gain Feb '23 PRICE 3 for the PRICE of ONE! Oscar, Felix, Hugo Michael MACLEAN Not yet new member! Ann SMITHSON Novelty Nov '22 Tony SCALZO Volunteer autumn 2022 Caitlin McLEOD Novelty Nov '22 Duncan ELLIS Novelty Nov '22 Chris RYAN Mid 2022

Peter BEYER State Championship. 2022 Jeff CHIN Paddle gain Feb '23 Arielle FONTAINE February 2022 Jordan TINDIGLIA Paddle gain Feb '23 Janice JOHNSTON Committee '22 Ron OLIVER Equipment team Peter MATTNER Equipment team Kim McMULLAN Equipment team Ashley BROWSE June '22